Interview With a Moody F*ck

With us all moving forward into uncertain times due to the Corona Virus we have seen the major disruptions in all walks of life. All gatherings postponed including music gigs. Even though we cannot go to gigs we can still appreciate new music. I got a chance to catch up with a new up and coming Irish Artist, we got to talk new EPs, Social Media, Music industry and Spice Bags.

Here is my first ever Featured Interview with Dublin native Sean Ryan aka Why – Axis.

R∅:: For those who may not know you, tell me what you do and where the name Why-Axis came from? 

W-A: So the name Why-Axis stemmed from when I was still in school in about 3rd year, I was one of them mood swing kids that listened to way too much death metal, going through a phase of questioning why I’m in school, why I’ve to do what I have to do and life in general. It was the same time that I had been learning about the x and y axis ,the part that I found interesting though was that when we look at a y axis and x axis we actually are looking at the plane has these axis’s from a different perspective which ends up actually looking like something completely different a lot of the time than what it looked like from the original axis you looked at it from, this is mainly looking at it as if it’s a physical object on a plane ,we probably learned about it in technical graphics to be honest ,but anyways I found that looking at a lot of situations in life that way can turn a negative situation into a positive one, so now before I take any situation as it is I try look at it from a different perspective and ask why is it like this and why is my reaction to it like this and if I looked at it from another what would my reaction be then and why.


R∅:: Who are you most influenced by ? How would you describe your sound?

W-A: My influences range too far for me to give you an exact name or names but I will say that I regularly go out of my way to listen and find new music , I really try to never listen to too much of one genre as I feel listening to as many as possible opens my ears to what could potentially be my next favorite track .Genre wise I don’t even listen to as much hip-hop as I used to rather more soul or instrument based music ,when making music some sounds just click in my head and I know that’s the one usually.

R∅:: Your Debut “Airplane Mode” came out in 2018 and you’ve just released your new EP Moody F*CK. How have you developed since then ? Would you say you’re a different artist to the one that released “Airplane Mode “

W-A: Making Airplane Mode took about the same amount of time as Moody F*ck did to be honest.I had planned on both to take me about a month originally but ended up taking well over a year. Would I say i am a different Artist? I think that musically I’ve improved , I’m definitely a different person to who I was back then mentally but the roots are still there. I started making music as a producer, mainly using plugins and my midi keyboard to program sounds but now I’ve actually learned how to play most of the instruments in my tracks so I just plug right in and record myself playing now which I think brings a more natural style and sound. I think so much about how people will react to the sound, what mood it will put them in, what they’ll think of the lyrics and the little effects that I’ve placed in my beats so I try to always tell my own story, while also making it something digestible and easy to listen to. That’s the difference between “Airplane Mode” and “Moody F*ck”. Unlike a lot of other Artists I can listen to really any genre and try to show that in my music.I don’t like complicated or fussy sounds so I try to just show my eclectic music taste but package it differently so that everyone can enjoy it also, I could talk for days about that to be honest

R∅::What made you get into music?

W-A: I’ve honestly had such a passion for it since I’ve been a baby that it was inevitable,I almost thought that it was an unrealistic goal to make a living from it and do it full time but I just kicked myself in the ass and said I’m only young once so if I don’t go for it now I’ll likely regret it most of my life so now I’m just doing what I love and trying to have as much fun as possible ,I’m still struggling but I’m trying to have a good time while I am.

R∅:: Whats the best song you’ve produced? and(if different) whats your favorite song you produced?

W-A: To be honest I loved the piano on “Airplane Mode” because I wrote it myself and was very proud of how technical it got, most of my friends are all musicians and mainly just into a lot of technical music so I felt like I was a bit on their level after that. Then from the new EP it would be very likely “Cold”. It’s just catchy and has some nice melodies that I’m proud of .

 R∅:: You’re very active on Social Media, is this an conscious decision ? whats your opinion of Social Media for artists?

W-A: I’m active on social media because I have to be really, I still think I could step my game up so much more but it’s so time consuming. It’s definitely a conscious decision because it’s the easiest way for me to reach my fans but honestly it’s a mental drain and if I could make the decision to leave it I would, but I feel like that would just take my career backwards as I know that’s my main contact point between me and the fans so I do try to engage with them as often as I can and put out good content for them but when I really get sick of it I just take a small break and don’t go on for a week or so.

R∅:: What would you change about the music industry?

W-A: Seriously asking myself that question is a tough one, I feel like if you really want to make it you don’t need the industry. I’ve seen plenty of artists do it their way and grow a tight supportive fan base and out shine industry artists. So it’s hard for me to say that I’d change the industry, it’s just another way of getting ahead usually with artists having play by certain rules and be friends with certain people to get ahead but if that’s what they are willing to do then they are putting that work in also so it works both ways really.

R∅::What adversities have you come across since starting a music career?

W-A: I’ve had plenty, there is always something between paying videographers’ thousands and getting nothing back to playing shows and then the booking agent telling us afterwards that they aren’t going to pay us anymore and being booked for large slots be it music or modelling and then having something mess it up. Losing full songs or paying hundreds to have music mixed and getting no product back. I can go on for days. There is literally always a problem and I’ve learned that even if I just got everything I always wanted there will always be a problem to come straight back up. It’s all just a learning curve to avoid those types of problems in the future, some things are out of our control and there’s no point in being upset or dwelling on them but rather to just keep moving and pushing ,especially if you are a musician. I think the problems that come with that don’t go away so the best option is to just smile and keep going!

R∅:: I feel I can always enjoy an artists material more when i feel i know there personality, I’ve a few quick fire questions for people to get to know you.

Chocolate in the fridge or in the press?W-A: Chocolate in the press of course!

Indian Curry or Chinese Curry? – W-A: Chinese Curry (I order a Spice bag literally every night)

Strawberry Milk or Chocolate? W-A: Chocolate milk erryday (I drink Mooju all day )

Whats on your playlists at the moment? – W-A: Daytona Foxx, thats’ it. He’s so low key but he’s going to blow up because he has some crazy melodies , the melodies he’s putting out there are just on a different level.

R∅:: Whats the grand plan for 2020? what are the goals?

W-A: The plan for 2020 is really to enjoy my time as much as I possibly can, I’ve seen things come and go too often similar to people in my life and want to absolutely make the most of this year and do as many things as I can, my main focus is creating my fist full length album and I want to have that finished and ready to release by next January hopefully which just leaves me a lot of time to have fun making it ,I’m going to release a project or two throughout the year also and a few singles too but for now I just want to play shows and travel .

R∅:: Normally I would plug the shizz out of your upcoming gigs but we are all being messed up by this virus, so anything/anyone you wanna shout out ?

 W-A: Shout out to the GoodBuzz – and yeah all the events were sadly just rescheduled until further notice so I don’t have much to say apart from fuck this corona virus hahah

Why-Axis EP Moody F*ck is available to stream on all playforms.

Check him out and keep an Eye for Sean and the GoodBuzz boys in 2020

Yurt

R∅

2 Comments

Leave a comment